Teams Announced For Hong Kong Rugby Sevens

March 8, 2017

NewsStandOnline.Net (8-March-2017): Uganda will be the 60th national union to participate in the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens’ parade of nations since 1976, when they debut next month.

The African sevens champions will be one of 28 international teams taking part as Hong Kong retains its status as the largest tournament on the World Rugby HSBC Sevens World Series (HSBC SWS).  16 international teams will contest the HSBC SWS competition while 12 teams will vie for the single promotion spot on offer in the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series qualifier tournament.

The 15 core teams participating in all ten tournaments on the international series will once again be the stars of the show, delighting the expected cumulative 120,000 fans. Those teams are series leaders South Africa, Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Russia, Samoa, Scotland, United States and Wales.

Teams Announced For Hong Kong Sevens

The sixteenth team invited by World Rugby to complete the HSBC SWS core competition in Hong Kong will be South Korea, third-placed finishers on last year’s Asia Rugby Sevens Series.

Fiji are the defending Hong Kong Sevens champions after their 21-7 win over New Zealand last April. It was a record 16th Hong Kong cup for Fiji, and their fourth in five years.  New Zealand are second in the cup-winning stakes in Hong Kong with 11.

South Africa, Fiji and a resurgent England currently constitute the top three on the HSBC SWS table after the fifth round in Las Vegas (3-5 March).

In a blistering start to the series, South Africa has won four of the five tournaments this season ahead of this weekend’s Canada Sevens. While they have reached the final on three occasions in Hong Kong, South Africa have yet to win the Cup here.